The 16%

When looking at the SMART goals acronym, the “A” typically represents making sure work goals are attainable. That is wise counsel. If you don’t believe me, consider the following example.

Let’s say I walk into your office and say, “I want you to run a marathon with me tomorrow.” Is that an attainable goal for you? I suppose it might be, but as someone who has run a marathon, I can attest to the fact that unless you’ve properly trained, the answer would be a resounding, “No way!”

Consider another possibility. What if I said, “It’s a beautiful day outside. Care to walk around the complex with me during lunch?” In that case, scheduling might be an issue, but the goal is much more attainable and may actually be enjoyable. 26.2 miles? Not so much!

When we consider work goals, it is important to challenge employees, but not push…

View original post 306 more words

