The 16%

I started a routine with my children when they were in grade school.  When we were having dinner, I would often ask each one of them, “Did you ask any good questions today?”  They would sometimes respond, “Yes, I asked if we had to know this for the test!”  And we would all laugh.  But then I would gently remind them, “There’s a difference between a question and a good question.  Learn to ask good questions.”  Table talk went on with, “Could you pass the green beans?” and other light and not so light topics, but as the years went by, I could see that the seeds that I planted began to produce results.   They learned to think for themselves, which was one of my major goals.  I tried to reinforce the importance of thinking critically by reminding them, “Leaders may not always know the right answer, but they usually…

View original post 313 more words

