Mis-leadership Tales

Working in the leadership development field since the mid-90s, I’ve accumulated a vast treasury of tales, research and theses about effective, inspiring leaders. I draw on these to illustrate my workshops, teaching and coaching.  But do you know which anecdotes my clients and students tell me they remember best, often years later?  Yep, it’s the horror stories, the tales of leaders who used, abused and confused their people, who led them down paths which only served the leadership team’s purposes, the ‘charismatic’ leaders whose public image disguised their hopelessly ineffective performance.

So . . . let’s hear more horror stories here, let’s accumulate our own library of Mis-leadership Tales.  And let’s all use them to inform and guide the next generation.

View original post

