Make Your Strategy Work

I attended my high school reunion over the weekend and it reminded me that the most powerful communication between people is a shared experience. It is, perhaps the single most important observation from my work in getting a masters in communications, and in my work with scores of companies over the past 30 years.

It’s why well-run strategy retreats result in better performance than simply publishing a strategy summary. It’s why individual coaching is more powerful than performance critiques. And it’s why companies like Apple, Starbucks, and Southwest Airlines have attained their high level of customer loyalty.

What are you doing to create shared experiences with your management team, your employee base, your suppliers, and your customers?

View original post

